Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Hiring your first employee as a new business owner is both an exciting and frightening experience. Not only do you have a person relying on you to pay them so they can provide for their family while balancing the cash flow needs of your business, but there is also a lot of paperwork and laws to comply with.
Here are 8 steps a business will need to make when hiring their first employee in Utah
Step 1 – Register as an Employer
Employers will need to first get an Employer Identification Number (EIN) – Form SS-4 from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in addition to the Employer Registration with the Utah State Tax Commission and Utah Labor Commission.
Step 2 – Employee Eligibility Verification
Each new employee will need to fill out the I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification Form from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. The I-9 Form is used to confirm citizenship and eligibility to work in the U.S. The employee must complete Section 1 by their first day of work, and the employer will complete Section 2 by the end of the third business day after the employee starts. Employers don’t submit the I-9 form but are required to keep the form on file for three years after the date of hire or one year after the employee’s termination, whichever is later.
Step 3 – Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate
Each employee will provide their employer with a signed Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4) on or before the date of employment. The W-4 form determines how much federal income tax will be withheld from the employee’s paycheck.
The employer does not typically submit Form W-4 to the IRS but will keep a copy on file. See IRS’s Publication 15 – Employer Tax Guide for more information on federal withholding.
Step 4 – New Hire Reporting
Employers are required to report newly hired employees and re-hired employees with the Utah Department of Workforce Services within 20 days of their hire or rehire date. This information is recorded in the National Directory of New Hires (NDNH) and is matched against state and federal child support databases to locate parents who owe child support.
Show All Answers
Once the application is completed and has been submitted, it is forwarded to the following departments for approval: Fire, Health, Police, and Zoning and Building. The approval of these departments may depend on a site inspection. The business license clerk must receive approval from the above-listed departments in order to issue a business license.
When all applicable departments have approved the application, a business license will be issued. The process may take up to 21 days.
Contact: the Utah State Tax Commission:
http://tax.utah.gov/contact210 North 1950 WestSalt Lake City, Utah 84134Phone: 801.297.2200 orToll Free: 800.0662.4335TDD: 801.297.2020Fax: 801.297.7699
Hours: Monday–Friday 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
BUSINESS LICENSE RENEWAL License renewals are due January 1 each year. The License will indicate an expiration date. Renewal notices are sent as a reminder, but you are ultimately responsible for ensuring timely renewal payments. If any license fee is not paid within thirty (30) days of the due date of January 1, a penalty of twenty-five (25) percent of the amount of such license fee shall be added. After sixty (60) days, an additional twenty-five (25) percent shall be added.
The purpose of a Business License in the City of Vernal is to regulate and license business and occupations within the corporate limit of the City.
1. To determine if businesses are operating within applicable laws and ordinances.2. To maintain a safe environment for the general public.3. To make sure that zoning and building codes are enforced.4. To maintain a list of currently licensed businesses for public access.5. To ensure that sales tax is properly remitted.
MOST BUSINESS LICENSES EXPIRE ON DECEMBER 31 OF EACH YEAR, AFTER WHICH TIME THEY CAN BE RENEWED.
It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation, or any person as principal, agent, clerk or employee thereof, within the City, to commence or carry on any business, trade or occupation specified in this title, or that may hereafter be required, without first having procured a license so to do from the City. Any person who has commenced or carried on any business, trade or occupation specified in this title prior to obtaining a license, therefore, shall be assessed a double license fee and/or revenue fee, which double assessment must be paid before the license shall be issued.
Yes. When a business license is issued, it is issued to the address provided on the application. Moving to a new location requires a new license. Therefore, completion of the Business License Application is required for the new location in order to obtain a valid business license.
Any business owner operating without a valid City business license shall be deemed guilty of a class B misdemeanor.